Our Vision

Mount Edward rd Ravenwood

Friends of the Farm (PEI) Inc, incorporated in 2004, is an association of volunteers concerned about the future use of that land within the City of Charlottetown which is commonly referred to as “The Experimental Farm”. The “Friends” wish to see the land preserved as green space with the possible inclusion of such facilities as gardens of different kinds, an arboretum, walks, and agricultural demonstrations, for the use of the general public. As much as possible and feasible, the present buildings should be retained to enhance future uses of the property and to provide a historical perspective.

Our History

Friends of the Farm began with a few people who were concerned about the future of the land occupied by the Crops and Livestock Research Centre – still referred to as the ‘Experimental Farm’ by the people in Charlottetown. Katherine Clough, Dianne Griffin, and Bert Christie, inspired by the Friends of the Farm in Ottawa, organized a group in 1994 to consider the future of the land.

In 1996, a document, “A Vision for the Home Farm” was produced, and a public meeting was held at the Research Station. Memberships were sold to generate some revenue. In the succeeding years, a small group, representing an informal executive, met from time to time. This group met with successive directors of the research station; and with mayors of Charlottetown. Besides Katherine, Dianne and Bert, others involved in these discussions were: Catherine Hennessey, George Kells, Barry King, Karen Lips, and Kate MacQuarrie. With limited funds, and no indication that Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada would be giving up the land in the near future, the committee became inactive.

In January, 2002, it was announced that Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada may declare 88 acres of the land as surplus and that this land would be turned over to the Canada Lands Company, a crown corporation. At the same time, the Mayor of Charlottetown announced that a recreational complex would be built in the centre of the site – between Barrymore Court and the Confederation trail. The Friends of the Farm Committee organized a public meeting on February 20th to present information and discussions.

On March 4th, 2002, there was a meeting of all members of Friends of the Farm and the following members were elected to the executive:

  • Chair: – Lloyd MacLeod
  • Vice-Chair: – Ken MacDonald
  • Sec.Treas: – Bert Christie
  • Directors: – Connie MacKay Carr
    – Catherine Hennessey
    – Laura Lee Howard
    – Gordon MacInnis

At the present time (March 2020) there are over 300 community members and the the Executive members are:

  • Nora Jenkins Chair
  • Connie MacKay Carr   Treasurer
  • Libby Martin Secretary
  • Gertie Purdy    Membership
  • Laura Lee Howard   Publicity
  • Catherine  Hennessey
  • Lane McLaren
  • Sylvia Poirier
  • Linda Thomas
  • Sharon Larter
  • Valerie Beer
  • Lily Gillespie
  • Frank Morrison
  • Steve Knechtel